

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2022 David A. Winston Policy Scholars Announced

WASHINGTON, DC – The David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship is proud to announce the 2022 David A. Winston Health Policy Scholars, selected on April 29th, 2022.

The objective of the Scholarship Program is to increase the volume and caliber of individuals trained in health policy or healthcare administration at the state and federal levels by awarding students financial support to further their graduate education with an emphasis on health policy. The program commemorates the contributions and personal qualities of David A. Winston who, for 20 years, played a significant role in shaping the role of health policy in America. Scholarship recipients are recognized for their excellence and achievement based upon their academic record and recommendations from faculty and colleagues as well as evidence of their interest in and commitment to the field of health policy. Nineteen \$10,000 scholarships were awarded to students who demonstrated their potential to succeed in health policy at the state or federal level upon graduation from their master's degree program. Scholarship recipients are also invited to participate in a two-day health policy symposium featuring nationally recognized health policy experts.

Recipients of the 2022 Scholarship are:

Gabrielle Aboulafia, Harvard University - MPP Malia Bacig Lambrecht, University of Minnesota - MHA Grace Bruno, Belmont Abbey College - MHA Shehrose Charania, University of Minnesota - MPH McKenzie Cowlbeck, University of Oklahoma - MPH Emily Dorian, Loyola University - MD/MPH Nathaniel Ferre, University of Utah - MHA/MPA Christopher Higginson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill - MD/MPH Brenna Hill, University of Southern California - MHA Abigail Hughes, Columbia University – MPH Maisie Lewis, Johns Hopkins University - MBA/MPH Colin McLeish, Dartmouth University - MD/MBA Delaney Paige Bounds, University of Iowa – JD/MPH Ari Panzer, Duke University - MPP Haley Samuel-Jakubos, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – MPH Eva Stanton, Harvard University - MPH Kelly Szafara, Harvard University – MPH Brynna Thigpen, University of Michigan -MBA/MPP Stanley Zheng, Johns Hopkins University - MHA

"We are excited to introduce another group of outstanding health policy Scholars to the national health policy discussion. We are confident that each of these individuals from excellent graduate programs will soon take their place as important contributors to the national health policy debate. Most importantly, we look forward to working with them now and in the future."

- Julie Goon, Chair, Board of Directors, David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship

For more information on the David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship & Fellowship programs, and to see the requirements & application process, please visit www.winstonfellowship.org
Contact: Kerry McAteer, Chief Operating Officer | Phone: 202-585-0288 | Email: kmcateer@winstonfellowship.org